You now have the freedom of choice for helmets in Michigan as of today!
Well, Michigan just became on of the many states that do not require that you wear a helmet when on a motorcycle. But they do have some pretty strict guidelines to follow.
You can only ride without a helmet if you have the following
- $20,000 additional in a Medical Policy for Insurance
- 2 Years of riding a motorcycle with a valid license
- Completed the motorcycle safety course
- Be 21 yrs old
This law actually is in effect as of today Friday April 13th. There are quite a few people who are not to happy about the governors decision. AAA of Michigan is one of them saying that it is poor public policy, and will increase motorcycle injuries and fatalities.
The governor had said that he would not sign the bill unless it was attached to some kind of insurance policy requirements.
ABATE of Michigan plans to continue providing certified motorcycle courses across the state
The law was written with input from ABATE, and this is the strictest state among the 30 states with freedom of choice.
ABATE Michigan has partnered with public schools and private driving instructors to teach more than 75,000 new drivers about motorcycle awareness.
Now this is the direction that will benefit all drivers and riders alike, and remember helmet free could generate more than $1 billion in direct and indirect revenue according to a recent Michigan Consultants study.
Congrats to all the freedom fighters in ABATE and the MRF!
Let those who ride decide.